Costume Designers Guild Awards Nominees for 2016

At long last, the Costume Designers Guild has unveiled nominations for its 18th annual CDG Awards! While the winners won’t be revealed until the February 23rd gala, we did want to call attention to several special honorees.

2016 Costume Designers Guild Awards Nominees by Manhattan Wardrobe Supply

To begin with, Sandy Powell is nominated twice this year, once for the lush Cinderella and another for the resplendent Carol. Both films star Cate Blanchett, who is set receive the Lacoste Spotlight Award. This honor goes to an actor whose career embodies both an enduring commitment to excellence as well as a special awareness of the role and importance of costume design.

2016 Costume Designers Guild Awards Nominees Sandy Powell by Manhattan Wardrobe Supply

Further, renowned costume designer Ellen Mirojnick will receive the guild’s Career Achievement Award. She’s worked closely with Michael Douglas throughout her tenure, dressing him on Wall Street, Fatal Attraction, Basic Instinct and HBO’s Behind the Candelabra (for which she won a Prime-time Emmy). Additional credits include Chaplin, Showgirls, Speed and Cocktail. Mironjnick has also collaborated with Stephen Soderbergh on Cinemax’s The Knick and she’s busy designing for Angelina Jolie Pitt’s latest project, Netflix’s First They Killed My Father.

2016 Costume Designers Guild Awards Nominees Ellen Mirojnick by Manhattan Wardrobe Supply

Lastly, Kurt Russell will present Quentin Tarantino with the Distinguished Collaborator Award. This honor is given in recognition of Tarantino’s creative partnerships with costume designers.

2016 Costume Designers Guild Awards Nominees Quentin Tarantino by Manhattan Wardrobe Supply

Here’s the full list of nominees for the Costume Designers Guild Awards:

Excellence in Contemporary Film
Beasts of No Nation – Jenny Eagan
Joy – Michael Wilkinson
Kingsman: The Secret Service – Arianne Phillips
The Martian – Janty Yates
Youth – Carlo Poggioli

Excellence in Period Film
Brooklyn – Odile Dicks-Mireaux
Carol – Sandy Powell
Crimson Peak – Kate Hawley
The Danish Girl – Paco Delgado
Trumbo – Daniel Orlandi

Excellence in Fantasy Film
Cinderella – Sandy Powell
Ex Machina – Sammy Sheldon Differ
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 2 – Kurt and Bart
Mad Max: Fury Road – Jenny Beavan
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Michael Kaplan

Outstanding Contemporary Television Series
American Horror Story: Hotel – Lou Eyrich
Empire, Season 1 – Rita McGhee
House of Cards – Johanna Argan, Kemal Harris
Ray Donovan – Christopher Lawrence
Transparent – Marie Schley

Outstanding Period Television Series
The Knick – Ellen Mirojnick
Mad Men – Janie Bryant, Tiffany White Stanton
Masters of Sex – Isis Mussenden
Outlander – Terry Dresbach
Penny Dreadful – Gabriella Pescucci

Outstanding Fantasy Television Series
Game of Thrones – Michele Clapton
Once Upon a Time – Eduardo Castro
Sleepy Hollow, Season 2 – Kristin M. Burke, Mairi Chisholm
Sleepy Hollow, Season 3 – Mairi Chisholm
The Wiz Live! – Paul Tazewell

Excellence in Short Form Design
And So It Begins, Old Spice Commercial – Mindy Le Brock
From the Makers of Happy & Merry, H&M Presents Katy Perry Commercial – B. Åkerlund
The Hobbit: Kingdoms of Middle-Earth – Dance Battle, Video Game, Kaboom/Warner Interactive Commercial – Soyon An
Kevin Spacey, E-Trade Commercial – Johanna Argan
Most Interesting Man in the World Wins on Land, Sea & Air, Dos Equis Commercial – Julie Vogel

Congrats and best of luck to all!